Titles and Registration
Due to production and supply chain delays, the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (SCDMV) has exhausted its stock of 30-day temporary license plates (TLP) for use when selling vehicles that will be registered in another state. The agency has been shifting around inventory to try and meet demand in all parts of the state.
The agency was recently made aware that the order of 30-day TLP stock it anticipated receiving next week from our vendor has been further delayed. The SCDMV is working with its vendor network to attempt to quickly replenish its 30-day TLPs. We will send out a notice as soon as that occurs.
As a temporary, short-term fix, the agency has developed a modification to its EVR program that will allow dealerships to issue the 45-day traceable temporary license plates (TTLP) to out-of-state (OOS) customers at the normal 45 day TTLP costs ($5.00 plus the cost of production). Your service provider can assist you with this process specific to their platform if you have additional questions. Steps for processing OOS customers are listed below.
Steps for processing a 45 day TTLP, for OOS customers, in EVR:
a) Create New customer
b) Submit UPD1
c) Create Temp Tag
d) Void Upd1
NOTE: If UPD2 is attempted, the requirement of in-state primary owner would be used to fail the transaction.
Non-EVR dealers who do not have any 30-day TLPs for sold vehicles that will be registered in another state should be aware that customers will not be able to drive off the lot until the customer has a 45-day TTLP or a license plate transferred from an existing vehicle to the new vehicle.
In these cases, non-EVR dealers will need to either send the customer to an SCDMV branch office to obtain a 45 day TTLP or the dealer can obtain the TTLP if they have the appropriate Power of Attorney (POA) from the customer and other required registration documentation.
Dealers should ensure OOS customers understand that the customer’s home state may have laws requiring a vehicle to be titled and registered in a time period shorter than 45 days. Customers must follow the law in their home state to ensure that the vehicle is properly titled and registered in a timely manner.
When 30-day TLP stock is received and distributed to the agency’s branch offices, the SCDMV and dealers will resume using 30-day TLP for all OOS customers. Dealers will be able to resume purchasing this stock at our branch offices at the original cost of $20.00 per plate. The option to use 45-day TTLP will no longer be allowed in our EVR system once we fully distribute the 30-day TLP stock to all offices. We will notify dealers, service providers, and key stakeholders the effective date for switching back to using 30 day TLPs.
Registering Your Vehicle
If you purchased a vehicle from an individual who holds the title for that vehicle, the following will be required to properly register that vehicle in South Carolina:
- Completed Title Application (SCDMV Form 400).
- Completed Statement of Vehicle Operation in South Carolina (SCDMV Form TI-006), if applicable - Required only if you do not have an SC Driver’s License or ID.
- First assignment completed on title: buyer’s name and address, lienholder information (if applicable), odometer reading, sales price, date of sale, seller’s signature, buyer’s signature. If assignment on title does not have section for sales price, a bill of sale must accompany paperwork.
- If requesting new plate, paid property tax receipt in new owner’s name.
- If transferring plate, current license plate number (plates cannot transfer from one owner to another).
- Title and registration fee.
- Infrastructure Maintenance Fee or Sales Tax, if applicable.
- Additional fees for Hybrid and Alternative Fuel vehicle.
You may visit a SCDMV branch office with the above documents to register your vehicle.
You may also mail (certified only) your documents and the appropriate payment, made out to the SCDMV, to the address below:
Titles and Registration
PO Box 1498
Blythewood, SC 29016-0024