Photo's courtesy of SC Department of Parks, Recreation & Tourism South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles

South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles


About SCDMV
SCDMV Leadership
Agency Reports
Office Locations
Moving to SC ..
Forms and Manuals
Vehicle Plate Gallery
Important Driving Tips
Freedom of Information Act
For Attorneys
For Members of the Media
News Releases
DMV Fees
Returned Checks
SCDMV Job Opportunities
SCDMV Historical Information
SCDMV Fraud Hotline
Procurement and Contract Services
SC Illegal Immigration Reform Act
Contact Us
Links

Buy a plate today

Buy a plate today

 


  Driver License Reinstatement
Reinstatement Requirements

Here are some examples of the most common suspensions. If you have a different situation than one outlined below, please contact the DMV Call Center by phone (803) 896-5000 or by email help@SCDMVonline.

Suspension Type

Suspension
Period

Reinstatement
Fee

SR-22

ADSAP

Driving Under the Influence        
First Offense (Note 1) 6 months
Second Offense 1 year
Third Offense (Note 2) 2 years

Fourth and Subsequent
Offenses (Note 2)

Felony DUI

License Revoked

3 years plus time served

Driving While Suspended

       
Original Suspension for Fixed Period Same time as
original suspension
 
Original Suspension is Indefinite 3 months  
Original Suspension for Failure to Pay a Traffic Ticket 30 days    

Operating Uninsured

Non-Owner

 

30 days

 

 

Owner
($550 reinstatement fee)

Failure to Maintain SR-22 (Note 3)

Non-Owner

Indefinite

 

Indefinite

 

 

 

Owner
(Reinstatement fees up to $400) 

Failure to Pay a Traffic Ticket(Note 4)

 

Indefinite

   

   

 


Notes:

  1. The number of offenses is determined by the number of driving under the influence violations that occur within a 10-year period.
  2. If the suspensions occurred within a five-year period, the suspension period will be four years for a 3rd Offense DUI, and terminated for a 4thoffense DUI. After seven years, the driver may petition the circuit court for a reinstatement for driving privileges. The following requirements must be met before the petition can be filed:
    1. The driver must not have had any driving under the influence or driving under suspension violation within the past seven years.
    2. The driver must have completed ADSAP.
  3. SR-22 insurance is not required if the three-year requirement period for the original suspension has ended. The reinstatement fee is not required if the new certificate of SR-22 insurance shows no lapse in coverage.
  4. You must provide a notice of payment from the court that issued the original ticket. Send your notices of payment to The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles, Driver Records, P.O. Box 1498, Blythewood, SC 29016. If the notice shows payment prior to the suspension date, the $100.00 reinstatement fee will not be required.
Back to Top
New Payment Plan Program

Beginning January 1, 2011, SCDMV will offer a driver’s license reinstatement fee payment program for SC residents that have a suspended driver’s license. For more information, click here.

Back to Top
Provisional Driver License

Individuals suspended for first offense driving under the influence or unlawful alcohol concentration will be eligible for a provisional license if they meet the following criteria:

  1. They must have or have had a South Carolina driver’s license or be exempt under South Carolina Code of Laws 56-1-30.
  2. They must have no other suspensions following the driving under the influence or unlawful alcohol concentration suspension except implied consent, implied consent under 21, BAC of .02 or greater, BAC of .15 or greater deriving from the same incident.
  3. They must have enrolled in the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program.
  4. They must have a certificate of SR-22 insurance on file with the Department of Motor Vehicles.
  5. The cost for a provisional driver’s license is $100.00.
Back to Top
SR-22 Insurance Certificate

A form SR-22 insurance certificate is required three years from the ending date of the suspension or, in some cases, from the beginning date or the compliance of the suspension. SR-22 is also required during the six months when an individual is issued a provisional driver's license. SR-22 must be obtained for the class license the driver seeks such as a motorcycle license or passenger vehicle license and the SR-22 Certificate must be on file with DMV before the license can be reinstated or a provisional license is issued. SR-22 is required even if you do not own a vehicle. In these cases, you can file a Non-Owners SR-22.

Back to Top
Reinstatement Fees
A $100.00 reinstatement fee is required for each suspension unless another amount is required.
Back to Top
ADSAP

The Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program is a program certified by the South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services. Completion of this program is required following Driving Under the Influence suspensions. ADSAP enrollment must be on file with DMV before obtaining a Provisional License. ADSAP completion must be on file with DMV before your driving privileges can be restored. To enroll in ADSAP or for more information, call the South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services.

Back to Top
Re-examinations

The knowledge and road tests are required if the individual's driver's license has expired or if re-examination is required by law following a suspension period before driving privileges may be reinstated. There is a charge of $2.00 to complete the knowledge portion of the re-examination. For more information about driver license testing, click here.

 
Back to Top
Ignition Interlock Device Program

An ignition interlock device (IID) is a mechanism similar to a breathalyzer, which is installed in a vehicle’s dashboard. The IID is designed to prevent a driver from operating the vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. The driver is required to breathe into the device before starting the vehicle and at random intervals while the vehicle is being operated.

 

Effective January 1, 2009, an II restriction is required for persons who are convicted of a second or subsequent offense for the following violations:

1)       driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs,

2)       driving with an unlawful alcohol concentration, or

3)       causing great bodily injury or death while driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

 

For more information about IID, click here.

Back to Top
Habitual Offender

Habitual offenders are those drivers who accumulate three or more convictions for serious offenses within a three year period, or 10 or more four-point moving violation convictions during a three year period.  For more information about Habitual Offender Status, click here.

Back to Top
Administrative Hearings
Administrative Hearings are conducted by the Division of Motor Vehicle Hearings, which is a part of the S.C. Administrative Law Court.  For information about the hearing process or to schedule a hearing, contact the  SC Administrative Law Court .
Back to Top
DMV Contact

For additional information, address all correspondence to:

The South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles
Driver Records
Post Office Box 1498
Blythewood, SC 29016-0028
or call (803) 896-5000

Back to Top

On This Page
Reinstatement Requirements
New Payment Plan Program
Provisional Driver License
SR-22 Insurance Certificate
Reinstatement Fees
ADSAP
Re-examinations
Ignition Interlock Device Program
Habitual Offender
Administrative Hearings
DMV Contact

Related Sites
SC Dept of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services