When applying for or
renewing a South Carolina driver’s license, applicants must certify on the
driver's license application (Form 447-NC or Form 447-CDL) that they
are insured by an automobile liability policy. If an applicant does not own a
vehicle or a vehicle is not in the household of the applicant, the applicant
can check off on the application accordingly.
The first time you
register your vehicle in SC and each time your vehicle registration is renewed,
you must provide the name of your insurance company. This insurance company
must be licensed to do business in South Carolina. SCDMV will verify your
coverage electronically. If the insurance policy cannot be verified, your
driver's license and vehicle registration may be suspended. If suspended, the
owner may have to pay up to $400.00 to reinstate their driving and registration
privileges. If you are a new resident in SC and have an automobile policy with
a national insurance company, be sure to change your address with your
insurance company before you register your vehicle in SC.
You Must Maintain Proof
of Insurance inside your Vehicle.
you are stopped by a law enforcement officer and unable to provide proof that
the vehicle you are operating is insured, you may be issued a citation and be
subject to a fine or imprisonment. If issued a citation for failure to provide
proof of insurance when stopped by law enforcement, you will be required to
provide proof of insurance for the vehicle that you were operating within
thirty (30) days to avoid an indefinite suspension of your driver’s
license. If suspended you will be required to pay $100.00 to reinstate
your driving privileges.
Back to Top