offers a “VETERAN” designation on driver licenses, identification cards and
beginner permits for individuals who served honorably in the United States
Armed Forces. To apply, veterans must present an acceptable document based on
the SC Code of Laws 56-1-140 and the standards set by the South Carolina State
Office of Veterans' Affairs.
If your military discharge date was AFTER January 1, 1950, you must provide Form DD-214 (Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty), which indicates an honorable discharge. No other proof of service will be accepted.
If your military discharge date was BEFORE 1950, you must provide a “Certificate of Discharge” or “Enlisted Separation Paper”. Veterans discharged before 1950 will not have a Military Form DD-214 because that form did not exist until January 1, 1950.
dependents, spouses or civilian employees on military bases are not eligible.
cost to add the VETERAN designation to a driver license, identification card or
beginner permit is $1.00. If you add the designation without changing or
renewing your license, you will pay only the $1.00 fee. However, if you conduct
another license transaction, you will pay $1.00 plus the required transaction
fee. Each time you change or renew your credential, you must pay an additional
$1.00 fee to add the designation.
state law requires documentation of military service, veterans applying for the
designation must visit a DMV office. To get the best service in the shortest
amount of time, DMV recommends that customers visit offices on Tuesdays,
Wednesdays and Thursdays. Customers should also remember that the days before
and after a holiday are extremely busy at DMV.
Back to Top
SCDMV allows qualified military service
members to waive the commercial skills test to obtain a commercial driver
license. The waiver allows them to apply for a SC commercial driver license without
having to take the skills test. However, applicants must still pass all
required knowledge tests and comply with mandatory federal regulations before
receiving a commercial motor vehicle license.
To qualify, applicants must be active military
personnel or within 12 months after separation of military service. They must
also have served in a military position requiring the operation of a military
commercial motor vehicle. Applicants must have a valid SC driver license and
cannot have held more than one other driver license within the past two years.
Drivers whose licenses were suspended, revoked, cancelled or disqualified
during the previous two years are not eligible for the waiver.
While other states or entities may provide
similar versions of the application, DMV will only accept Form DL-408A for the waiver. The
form must be signed by the applicant’s Commanding Officer. Service members
should allow DMV two weeks to process their applications.
Back to Top
service members (and his dependents) temporarily stationed in South Carolina
are not required to obtain a South Carolina Driver's license if this is not his
state of domicile. However, he must have a [valid] driver's license from his
home state to operate a vehicle in South Carolina.
Back to Top
duty military and their dependents, and Department of Defense employees who are
stationed outside of South Carolina may renew their driver’s license by mail.
Mail the following documents to SCDMV, PO Box 1498, Blythewood, SC 29016-0035.
Completed Form DL-63 Mail-In Renewal Application.
The vision screening section of the form must be completed by a licensed eye care professional if renewing a driver’s license.
Provide a special mailing address such as your APO address for the new credential to be mailed.
Check made payable to SCDMV in the amount of $12.50 for a five year license.
Current photograph in color of yourself from top of head to shoulders without your face or head covered.
Copy of military orders showing continuous active duty service outside of the state.
Back to Top
that are expired within 9 months from
the expiration date
you apply for a South Carolina license within nine months of the expiration
date on your current license SC
Code of Law §56-1-215 allows DMV to renew it without
administering the knowledge test or road test whether you are military or civilian.
You will be required to pass the eye exam or submit a statement of visual
acuity (Form 412-NC or 412-CDL) from an eye care professional to
qualify for a SC driver’s license.
knowledge test is required if you have a South Carolina credential and you have
accumulated more than 5 points within the two years prior to renewal.
may not possess a valid license from South Carolina and another state. Each
qualified driver can have only one driver's license.
B. Credentials that are expired beyond 9 months from the expiration date
you are a civilian, you must take the knowledge and skills test if your
driver’s license (SC or out of state) expires beyond 9 months from the
expiration date on your license.
you are stationed outside of this state for a minimum of 90 continuous days on
active duty and your credential expires, South Carolina law considers the license valid as long as you are a:
military service member, or the
dependent of a military service member, or a
rule only applies if the credential expired:
Driver's license that are expired beyond the 9 months will be renewed just as it would be if it were still valid. You have up to 90 days after being discharged from the service or returning to the state to receive the waiver of testing. You must provide the following
documentation to be eligible to waive the knowledge and road test for an
Documentation Must be Presented
Military service member
military identification card; and
copy of his military service record, a document of his branch of military
service showing the date of active military duty assignment outside the State
as well as the return date to the State; or
the event that the individual is retiring or leaving the military his DD-214
would show the dates of discharge.
The spouse and/or dependents would use these same documents.
valid DOD issued identification card; and
orders supporting temporary services outside of this State.
you have a South Carolina driver’s license you are required to provide a proof
of residency document and any source documents that may not be stored in DMV’s
you are transferring an Out of State driver’s license for a South Carolina
license the standard documents for basic license transfer still applies (proof
of: residency; US citizenship/identity/DOB; and social security number). Click here for information on these
Back to Top