Photo's courtesy of SC Department of Parks, Recreation & Tourism South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles

South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles


About SCDMV
SCDMV Leadership
Agency Reports
Office Locations
Moving to SC ..
Forms and Manuals
Vehicle Plate Gallery
Important Driving Tips
Freedom of Information Act
For Attorneys
For Members of the Media
News Releases
DMV Fees
Returned Checks
SCDMV Job Opportunities
SCDMV Historical Information
SCDMV Fraud Hotline
Procurement and Contract Services
SC Illegal Immigration Reform Act
Contact Us
Links

Buy a plate today

Buy a plate today

 


  Manufactured Home Titling
Acceptable Identification Required

Effective January 1, 2012, you must provide acceptable identification when you apply for a title and/or vehicle registration. If you are titling and/or registering a vehicle and present identification other than a South Carolina credential, you must also verify that the vehicle is operated or principally garaged in South Carolina for six or more months of the year. If you are a business customer, you must provide a federal identification number (social security number for sole proprietorships). 

Back to Top
Applying for a Mobile Home of Manufactured Home Title

When you purchase a new or used mobile home or manufactured home in South Carolina, you must have the following to apply for a title:

  • The previous title or Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin
    If you have purchased a used mobile home, you must have the title and the previous owner of the Manufactured Home must have signed that title over to you.  If this title does not have the Bill of Sale on the back of the document, you must also submit a Bill of Sale.  If you have purchased a new mobile home, you must have the Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin.  The Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin must be properly assigned to you.
  • Acceptable Identification 
  • Lien Information
    If there is a lien on your mobile home, you must provide the name and address of the lienholder and the date of the lien.
  • Completed Form 400, Application for Certificate of Title/Registration
    To complete the form, you must have your current lien information.
  • Casual Sales/Use Tax
    No sales tax is required on mobile homes if it was purchased between individuals. New mobile home purchases from a dealer will require a dealer sales tax number. The $300.00 cap will apply if the mobile home is energy efficient.  Otherwise, the sales tax will be calculated according to the selling price.  This does not cover taxes for a repossessing agent or purchase from an out of state dealer.
  • The title fee is $15.00

 

Back to Top
Repossessed Mobile or Manufactured Homes

When applying for a title on a repossessed mobile or manufactured home, you must have the following: 

  • Completed Form 400, Application for Certificate of Title/Registration in the new owner’s name
  • Acceptable Identification 
  • Repossession affidavit completed in full
  • Original South Carolina or out-of-state title
    If the SC title has been lost, you must have a statement to that effect
  • The title fee is $15.00.
Back to Top
Detitling a Mobile or Manufactured Home

This process can be handled only at the Blythewood and the Columbia O'Neil Court location. Please contact your county for additional requirements.

To detitle a mobile or manufactured home, you must submit the following:

  • The Manufactured Home Affidavit or the Retirement of Title Certificate.
    This document must be obtained from the register of deeds or the clerk of court in the county where the home is located.  It must be stamped with the date and time it was received in the county office.
  • Title for the Mobile or Manufactured Home
    The title must be the original SC title. The information (Year, Make, VIN and owner) on the title and the Retirement of Title Certificate must match.  The information on the title must also match the information contained in DMV files.  If the mobile or manufactured home is purchased new, you must apply for the title before it can be detitled.
  • Lien Release
    A lien release must be provided for each lien recorded on the title.  If the lien is not released on the title, any attorney licensed to practice law in SC may record a Satisfaction of Lien Affidavit in the county where the home is located provided proof of payment can be provided to the county.  If the mobile or manufactured home still has a lien at the time the title is retired, you must file a manufactured home lien affidavit with the clerk of court in the county where the mobile home is located. After filing the lien affidavit, it will become a lien against the real property.
  • Property Tax Receipt
    A tax receipt indicating that the taxes for the current year have been paid.  If no taxes are owed on the property, DMV will accept a statement on the county treasurer’s letterhead stating that no taxes are owed.
  • De-Titling Fee
    A $50.00 fee is required for each mobile home that is detitled.
DMV will provide written confirmation to the homeowner that the certificate of title has been retired.
Back to Top
Mobile or Manufactured Home Sold after Being Declared Real Property

If the title has been retired on a mobile or manufactured home and that home will be attached to real property in its new location, the owner does not need to obtain a new title.  The buyer of the mobile or manufactured home must file a manufactured home severance affidavit with the register of deeds or clerk of court in the county or counties from which the manufactured home is being moved and where it is being located.

If the mobile or manufactured home will not be affixed to real property in its new location, the owner of the manufactured home must obtain a new title from the Department of Motor Vehicles.

To obtain a new title, you must provide the following:

  • The lien must be released or the lien holder must consent to transfer the lien to the new owner.
  • Completed Form 400, Application for Certificate of Title/Registration
  • Acceptable Identification  
  • A title fee of $15.00
  • A stamped, clocked copy of the Manufactured Homes Severance affidavit, which has been filed in the register of deeds or clerk of courts office in the county where the mobile or manufactured home will be located.
  • The Form 400 must reflect any liens in the order of their priority that are listed on the Manufactured Home Severance Affidavit.
  • An Affidavit of Security Interest of Record executed by a licensed South Carolina Attorney identifying in the order of the priority any secured party having a security interest on the real property must be included with the Manufactured Home Severance Affidavit.  
  • A copy of the Form 400 along with the Manufactured Home Severance must also be filed in the office of the register of deeds or the clerk of court in the county where the mobile or manufactured home was formerly located.
Back to Top
Samples of Affidavit

Sample layouts of Affidavits as defined in the ARTICLE 4 (RETIREMENT OF TITLE CERTIFICATE TO MANUFACTURED HOMES) of the South Carolina law 56-19-500.  These PDF's are not DMV forms and are only available as samples.  Adobe Reader is required to view these documents.

Affidavit for Retirement
Satisfaction Affidavit
Manufactured Home Lien Affidavit
Manufactured Home Severance Affidavit
Attorney Affidavit of Security Interests

Back to Top

On This Page
Acceptable Identification Required
Applying for a Mobile Home of Manufactured Home Title
Repossessed Mobile or Manufactured Homes
Detitling a Mobile or Manufactured Home
Mobile or Manufactured Home Sold after Being Declared Real Property
Samples of Affidavit

Related Sites
SC Association of County Auditors, Treasurers and Tax Collectors